软件安全测试

安全测试实践涉及发布前测试,包括将安全举措整合到标准质量保证流程当中。该实践包括使用黑盒安全工具(包括模糊测试)作为 QA 的冒烟测试、风险驱动型白盒测试、攻击模型的应用,以及代码覆盖率分析。安全测试着重测量构造中的安全缺陷。

1 级安全测试

[ST1.1: 100] 确保 QA 支持边缘/边界值条件测试。

QA 不仅开展功能测试,还执行基础对抗性测试并搜寻简单的边缘情况和便捷条件,无需具备特定的攻击技能。当 QA 了解利用预期的新数据具有助力通过标准功能测试的价值时,就会慢慢开始从攻击者的角度思考问题。关于边界值测试的讨论自然会导致攻击者故意探究边缘(例如,确定某人为什么会反复输入错误密码)。

[ST1.3: 87] 推动进行安全需求和安全功能测试。

QA 旨在从需求和安全功能中衍生出宣告式安全机制。例如,测试可以尝试以非特权用户的身份访问管理功能,或者验证用户账户在多次尝试验证失败后是否遭到锁定。大多数情况下,安全功能可以采用类似于其他软件功能的方式进行测试;基于账户锁定、事务限制、权限等要求的安全机制也会利用预期和非预期的新数据接受测试。软件安全功能不是安全软件,但是测试安全特性是一种简单的入门方法。新的软件架构和部署模型(如,加入云)可能需要新的测试方法。

2 级安全测试

[ST2.1: 32] 在 QA 流程集成了黑盒安全工具。

该组织在 QA 流程中使用一个或多个黑盒安全测试工具。此类工具的价值在于它们概括了攻击者的视角(尽管较为宽泛);诸如 IBM Security AppScan 或 Fortify WebInspect 等工具与网络应用程序相关,而 Prowler 则与 AWS 部署相关。有时,其他群体可能会与 SSG 合作应用这些工具。例如,一个测试团队尽管能够运行该工具,但却求助 SSG 解读测试结果。凭借在敏捷开发方案中集成测试的方式,工程部可以将黑盒工具关联到工具链中,也可以直接使用。无论是谁运行黑盒工具,都应当将测试正确集成到 SSDL 的 QA 环节。

[ST2.4: 15] 与 QA 共享安全结果。

SSG 或其他拥有安全测试数据的人员会与负责测试的人员例行共享安全审查结果。使用测试结果作为依据,开展关于常见攻击模式或代码漏洞的潜在原因的对话,可以帮助 QA 概括信息,进而开发新的测试方法。CI/CD 跨部门团队集成测试的方式简化了这项工作。时间一长,QA 就习得了安全思维,并且组织能够受益于自身能力的增强,可以针对组织的代码度身定制安全测试。

[ST2.5: 9] 在 QA 自动化中纳入安全测试。

安全测试包含在自动化框架中,并与其他 QA 测试一起运行。虽然许多小组都会人工触发这些测试,但这些测试很可能包含在现代工具链的管道中,并通过自动化触发。安全测试可能衍生自生命周期早期识别的滥用案例,产生于功能测试、开发人员测试、安全特性测试的创造性调整,甚至始于渗透测试人员提供的关于如何重现问题的指南。

[ST2.6: 9] 执行专门为应用 API 定制的模糊测试。

针对组织的关键 API 运行定制的模糊框架也是 QA 的一项工作。他们可以从头开始运行,也可以使用现有的模糊工具包,但是常常需要超出创建自定义协议描述或文件格式模板进行必要的定制,才能让模糊框架从内部了解其调用的应用程序接口。针对特定应用明确开发的测试线束成为集成模糊测试的好地方。

3 级安全测试

[ST3.3: 2] 通过风险分析结果驱动测试。

测试人员使用架构分析结果(参见 [AA 2.1 定义和使用 AA 流程])来指导他们的工作。如果 AA 判定:例如,“系统的安全性取决于事务的原子性,而不是因为中途中断”,那么破碎的事务将成为对抗性测试的主要目标。此类对抗性测试可以根据风险状况进行开发,将高风险的缺陷列入名单之首。

[ST3.4: 1] 运用覆盖率分析。

测试人员测量其安全测试的代码覆盖率 (参见 [ST2.5 在 QA 自动化中纳入安全测试]),以确定未执行的代码。代码覆盖率分析反过来推动了安全测试深度的增加。标准型黑盒测试工具达到的覆盖率极低,使得大部分待测软件都未被发现,因而不是测试最佳实践。采用标准测量指标(如功能覆盖率、路径覆盖率或多个条件覆盖率)可以简化覆盖率分析。

[ST3.5: 2] 开始构建并应用对抗性安全测试(滥用案例)。

测试开始基于滥用案例纳入测试案例(参见 [AM2.1 构建与潜在攻击者相关的攻击模式和滥用案例]),因为测试人员不仅要验证功能,还要考虑攻击者的角度。例如,一种办法是系统地尝试复制组织以往发生的事件。基于攻击者视角的滥用和误用案例也可以从安全政策、攻击情报、标准和组织的重大攻击列表中派生出来(参见 [AM2.5 编制并维护最可能发生的攻击列表])。这项工作把测试的方向从测试功能转向了尝试破坏软件。

Software Security Testing

The Security Testing practice is concerned with prerelease testing, including integrating security into standard quality assurance processes. The practice includes use of black-box security tools (including fuzz testing) as a smoke test in QA, risk-driven white-box testing, application of the attack model, and code coverage analysis. Security testing focuses on vulnerabilities in construction.

Security Testing Level 1

[ST1.1: 100] Ensure QA performs edge/boundary value condition testing.

QA efforts go beyond functional testing to perform basic adversarial tests and probe simple edge cases and boundary conditions, with no particular attacker skills required. When QA understands the value of pushing past standard functional testing that uses expected input, it begins to move slowly toward thinking like an adversary. A discussion of boundary value testing can lead naturally to the notion of an attacker probing the edges on purpose (for example, determining what happens when someone enters the wrong password over and over).

[ST1.3: 87] Drive tests with security requirements and security features.

QA targets declarative security mechanisms with tests derived from requirements and security features. A test could try to access administrative functionality as an unprivileged user, for example, or verify that a user account becomes locked after some number of failed authentication attempts. For the most part, security features can be tested in a fashion similar to other software features—security mechanisms such as account lockout, transaction limitations, entitlements, and so on are tested with both expected and unexpected input as derived from requirements. Software security isn’t security software, but testing security features is an easy way to get started. New software architectures and deployment automation, such as with container and cloud infrastructure orchestration, might require novel test approaches.

[ST1.4: 50] Integrate opaque-box security tools into the QA process.

The organization uses one or more opaque-box security testing tools as part of the QA process. Such tools are valuable because they encapsulate an attacker’s perspective, albeit generically. Traditional dynamic analysis scanners are relevant for web applications, while similar tools exist for cloud environments, containers, mobile applications, embedded systems, and so on. In some situations, other groups might collaborate with the SSG to apply the tools. For example, a testing team could run the tool but come to the SSG for help with interpreting the results. When testing is integrated into agile development approaches, opaque-box tools might be hooked into internal toolchains, provided by cloud-based toolchains, or used directly by engineering. Regardless of who runs the opaque-box tool, the testing should be properly integrated into a QA cycle of the SSDL and will often include both authenticated and unauthenticated reviews..

Security Testing Level 2

[ST2.4: 19] Share security results with QA.

The SSG or others with security testing data routinely share results from security reviews with those responsible for QA. Using security testing results as the basis for a conversation about common attack patterns or the underlying causes of security defects allows QA to generalize that information into new test approaches. Organizations that have chosen to leverage software pipeline platforms such as GitHub, or CI/CD platforms such as the Atlassian stack, can benefit from QA receiving various testing results automatically, which should then facilitate timely stakeholder conversations. In some cases, these platforms can be used to integrate QA into automated remediation workflow and reporting by generating change request tickets for developers, lightening the QA workload. Over time, QA learns the security mindset, and the organization benefits from an improved ability to create security tests tailored to the organization’s code.

[ST2.5: 21] Include security tests in QA automation.

Security tests are included in an automation framework and run alongside other QA tests. While many groups trigger these tests manually, in a modern toolchain, these tests are likely part of the pipeline and triggered through automation. Security tests might be derived from abuse cases identified earlier in the lifecycle (see [AM2.1 Build attack patterns and abuse cases tied to potential attackers]), from creative tweaks of functional tests, developer tests, and security feature tests, or even from guidance provided by penetration testers on how to reproduce an issue.

[ST2.6: 15] Perform fuzz testing customized to application APIs.

QA efforts include running a customized fuzzing framework against APIs critical to the organization. They could begin from scratch or use an existing fuzzing toolkit, but the necessary customization often goes beyond creating custom protocol descriptions or file format templates to giving the fuzzing framework a built-in understanding of the application interfaces it calls into. Test harnesses developed explicitly for particular applications make good places to integrate fuzz testing.

Security Testing Level 3

[ST3.3: 8] Drive tests with risk analysis results.

Testers use architecture analysis results (see [AA 2.1 Define and use AA process]) to direct their work. If the AA determines that “the security of the system hinges on the transactions being atomic and not being interrupted partway through,” for example, then torn transactions will become a primary target in adversarial testing. Adversarial tests like these can be developed according to risk profile, with high-risk flaws at the top of the list. Security testing results shared with QA (see [ST 2.4 Share security results with QA]) can help focus test creation on areas of potential vulnerability that can, in turn, help prove the existence of identified high-risk flaws.

[ST3.4: 2] Leverage coverage analysis.

Testers measure the code coverage of their security tests (see [ST2.5 Include security tests in QA automation]) to identify code that isn’t being exercised and then adjust automation (see [ST3.6 Implement event-driven security testing in automation]) to incrementally improve coverage. In turn, code coverage analysis drives increased security testing depth. Standard-issue black-box testing tools achieve exceptionally low coverage, leaving a majority of the software under test unexplored, which isn’t a testing best practice. Coverage analysis is easier when using standard measurements such as function coverage, line coverage, or multiple condition coverage.

[ST3.5: 2] Begin to build and apply adversarial security tests (abuse cases).

QA begins to incorporate test cases based on abuse cases (see [AM2.1 Build attack patterns and abuse cases tied to potential attackers]) as testers move beyond verifying functionality and take on the attacker’s perspective. One way to do this is to systematically attempt to replicate incidents from the organization’s history. Abuse and misuse cases based on the attacker’s perspective can also be derived from security policies, attack intelligence, standards, and the organization’s top N attacks list (see [AM2.5 Build and maintain a top N possible attacks list]). This effort turns the corner from testing features to attempting to break the software under test.

 

[ST3.6: 2] Implement event-driven security testing in automation.

The SSG guides implementation of automation for continuous, event-driven application security testing. Event-driven testing implemented in ALM automation typically moves the testing closer to the conditions driving the testing requirement (whether shift left toward design or shift right toward operations), repeats the testing as often as the event is triggered as software moves through ALM, and helps ensure the right testing is executed for a given set of conditions. This might be instead of or in addition to software arriving at a gate or checkpoint and triggering a point-in-time security test. Success with this approach depends on broad use of sensors (e.g., agents, bots) that monitor engineering processes, execute contextual rules, and provide telemetry to automation that initiates the specified testing whenever event conditions are met. More mature configurations proceed to including risk-driven conditions.