合规与政策

1 级合规与政策

合规&与政策实践着重确定 PCI DSS 和 HIPAA 等合规领域的控制措施、制定服务级协议 (SLA) 等合约控制措施,帮助控制 COTS 软件风险、设定组织软件安全政策,并根据该政策进行审核。  

[CP1.1: 81] 统一监管压力。

如果企业或其客户受到美国的支付卡行业安全标准、GLBA、SOX 和 HIPAA;或欧盟的 GDPR 等监管或合规驱动因素的影响,则 SSG 就会成为了解驱动因素对软件施加约束的焦点。有时,SSG 会独自或合作创建统一的方法,消除重叠的合规要求产生的冗余和冲突。正式的方法会映射法规的适用部分,以管控说明组织合规方法的声明。作为替代方案,SSG 以外的法律或其他风险与合规团队运转的现有业务流程也可以作为监管焦点。采用一套符合监管压力要求的统一软件安全指南,能够确保尽可能高效地完成合规工作。一些公司通过直接参与标准工作组开发新技术和要求来影响监管环境。

[CP1.2: 105] 确定 PII 责任。

SSG 利用此类信息推动形成隐私保护最佳实践,在确定和描述监管和客户期望催生的 PII 义务方面发挥着关键作用。软件处理 PII 的方式可以经过明确规定,但即便不是如此,隐私也是一个热门话题。例如,如果组织处理信用卡交易,SSG 将帮助确定 PCI DSS 对持卡人数据处理的约束条件,然后再通知所有利益相关者。请注意,外包到托管环境(例如,云)不会减少 PII 义务,甚至可能会增加识别所有相关义务的难度。另请注意,创建处理 PII 的软件产品(公司不一定要直接处理 PII)的公司可以通过为其客户提供隐私控制和指导来满足这一需要。消费者的隐私保护预期、“软件无所不在”的扩散以及数据抓取和关联(例如,社交媒体)都在不断增强,从而为 PII 保护增加了另一个维度。

[CP1.3: 76] 制定政策。

SSG 通过制定或促成制定满足内部、法规和客户驱动的安全要求的软件安全策略来指导组织的其他部门。该政策包含一套统一的方法,可满足治理层面的(可能冗长的)安全驱动因素清单。因此,项目团队可以不必随时关注符合所有适用法规或其他规定涉及的所有细节。同样地,项目团队也不必亲自重新了解客户安全要求。SSG 政策声明有时可能会关注主要的合规性主题,例如处理 PII 或使用加密技术。有时,政策与 SSDL 及其在公司的使用直接相关。因为它们可能是新主题,所以关于物联网、云和移动架构的编码决策可能会重新引起人们对制定政策的兴趣。同样,例如可能需要解释可以和不可以自动化到 CI/CD 和连续部署通道中的内容(请参阅 [SM3.4 集成软件定义的生命周期管理])。架构标准和编码指南不属于政策范畴,但规定并强制要求对某些软件类别使用编码指南和架构标准的政策却属于该范畴。政策就是在初步行动层面给予许可和否定的内容;如果是非强制性,则就不能称之为政策。很多时候,政策声明必须可以转换为在软件定义的生命周期中使用的自动化程序,而不仅仅是人们强制执行的流程,但即使是自动化政策也必须具有强制性。  

2 级合规与政策

[CP2.1: 48] 确定 PII 库存。

组织确定每个系统及其关联数据存储库处理或存储的 PII 种类。可以通过两种方式来处理 PII 库存:从每个单独的应用程序开始,记下 PII 的使用情况,或者从特定类型的 PII 和标注接触它们的应用程序开始。系统架构的发展使得 PII 流入基于云的服务和终端设备生态系统并停留在那里(例如,内容交付网络、社交网络、移动设备、IoT 设备),导致保持准确的 PII 库存变得非常棘手。必须在关键情况下能够轻松引用库存,例如制作一份要求在遭遇泄露时通知客户的数据库列表,或一份在危机模拟中使用的列表(参见 [CMVM3.3 模拟软件危机])。

[CP2.2: 47] 要求合规风险接受安全签核。

组织具备正式的合规风险接受和问责流程来处理所有软件开发项目。在这一进程中,风险接受者在发布之前签核软件的状态时,SSG 可以为其充当顾问。例如,签核政策可能要求业务部门负责人签核尚未得到缓解的问题或与跳过的合规性相关的 SSDL 步骤。签核内容应当清晰可辨并且要截图以供将来参考,即使在最快的敏捷方法下也可以跟踪任何例外情况。请注意,没有安全缺陷的应用程序可能也会不合规,因此无害的渗透测试不能代替合规性签核。即使 DevOps 组织中的工程师有发布软件的技术能力,标准已纳入自动化流程,也仍然需要有意识的风险接受步骤。如果风险接受者签署了一套特定的合规性验收标准,然后在自动化流程中实施,则必须持续验证标准是否准确并且自动化流程是否切实可行。

[CP2.3: 51] 实施并追踪合规控制措施。

该组织可以证明符合相关要求,因为其 SSDL 符合 SSG 制定的控制声明(参见 [CP1.1 统一监管压力])。SSG 跟踪 SDLC 控制措施、指导问题领域,并确保达到审核与监管机构的满意程度。如果组织的 SDLC 可预测且可靠,则 SSG 即可保留在后台,因为遵循 SSDL 会生成所需的合规性证据。DevOps 在流程中嵌入合规性控制措施的方法会越来越多地出现在软件定义的基础架构和网络中,而不是出现在流程和人工干预中。处理得当的公司可以明确地将满足合规问题与遵循其 SSDL 联系起来。

[CP2.4: 44] 在所有供应商合同中加入软件安全 SLA。

供应商合同中包含 SLA,以确保供应商不会危害组织的合规历程或 SSI。每份新签订或续签的合同都包含一些规定,要求供应商解决软件安全问题并交付与组织的安全政策兼容的产品或服务(参见 [SR2.5 创建 SLA 模板])。有时,开源许可会涉及发起供应商管理流程,这样可以为在 SLA 中增加软件安全语言提供便利。此时仅仅依靠传统 IT 安全要求和允许进行渗透测试的一份简单协议并不够。

[CP2.5: 56] 确保高管注重合规和隐私保护义务。

为了获得高管对于各种合规和隐私保护活动的支持,SSG 采用简明的语言为高管解释了组织合规性和隐私保护义务,以及不履行这些义务的潜在后果。对一些组织而言,解释不合规或数据泄露产生的直接成本和可能后果,是提出这个问题的有效方法。而对于另一些组织而言,请外部专家向董事会讲解则能行得通,因为一些高管看重外部视角多过内部观点。获得高管充分支持的一个明确标志就是他们分配充足的资源来履行这些义务。虽然给人紧迫感(而且通常还要在此之后发生一次泄露)有助于开展引导工作,但是效果不会长久。

3 级合规与政策

[CP3.1: 25] 构建监管合规图景。

SSG 具备监管部门需要的信息,SSDL 收集的一系列书面政策、控制文件和工件,使 SSG 能够展示组织的合规图景,而不需要针对每次审核进行演习,也不必为每个迭代编写一份文书。监管机构、审核机构及高管通常都会对相同种类的报告感到满意,此类报告可通过各类工具直接生成。在某些情况下,组织将需要供应商提供更多信息,说明供应商的控制措施如何支持组织达到合规性(例如,云提供商,尤其是在多云部署中)。通常需要规范化来自不同来源的信息。政府是最大的但不是唯一的行为监管者。 

[CP3.2: 15] 针对供应商实施政策。

供应商必须遵守在内部使用的相同政策,还必须提交证明他们的软件安全实践合格的证据。在一个特定的组织中,供应商可能包括云提供商、中间件提供商、虚拟化提供商、容器和编排提供商、定制软件创建者、承包商等等,每个供应商可能会遵守不同的政策要求。他们的合规性证据可能包括代码审查或渗透测试的结果,或直接置入自动化或基础架构中的测试。供应商可能会证明他们执行了某些 SSDL 流程。有时,可使用 BSIMM 评分或 BSIMMsc 评分来帮助确保供应商遵守公司的软件安全政策。

[CP3.3: 7] 利用软件生命周期数据的反馈改进政策。

软件生命周期产生的信息会例行地反馈进入政策制定流程,帮助提早发现缺陷并立即阻止缺陷的发生。这样可以将盲点映射到 SSDL 故障趋势中,进而消除盲点。如果经常出现架构分析不充分、反复产生漏洞、忽视的安全门,或者选择不合适的公司进行渗透测试等问题,都可能暴露政策薄弱环节。有时,生命周期数据可能表明政策过于官僚化,例如因为阻碍了工程部门跟上预期的交付节奏,而引起冲突。技术的快速发展也可能造成政策空白,必需加以解决。久而久之,这些政策就会变得更加切合实际并且便于实施(参见 [SM1.1 发布流程并根据需要进行改进])。最后,调整政策使其与 SSDL 数据保持一致,从而加强和提高公司效率。

Compliance & Policy

Compliance & Policy Level 1

The Compliance & Policy practice is focused on identifying controls for compliance regimens such as PCI DSS and HIPAA, developing contractual controls such as service-level agreements (SLAs) to help control COTS software risk, setting organizational software security policy, and auditing against that policy.  

[CP1.1: 81] Unify regulatory pressures.

If the business or its customers are subject to regulatory or compliance drivers such as the Payment Card Industry security standards; GLBA, SOX, and HIPAA in the United States; or GDPR in the EU, the SSG acts as a focal point for understanding the constraints such drivers impose on software. In some cases, the SSG creates or collaborates on a unified approach that removes redundancy and conflicts from overlapping compliance requirements. A formal approach will map applicable portions of regulations to control statements explaining how the organization complies. As an alternative, existing business processes run by legal or other risk and compliance groups outside the SSG could also serve as the regulatory focal point. A unified set of software security guidance for meeting regulatory pressures ensures that compliance work is completed as efficiently as possible. Some firms move on to influencing the regulatory environment directly by becoming involved in standards groups exploring new technologies and mandates.

[CP1.2: 105] Identify PII obligations.

The SSG plays a key role in identifying and describing PII obligations stemming from regulation and customer expectations by using this information to promote best practices related to privacy. The way software handles PII might be explicitly regulated, but even if it isn’t, privacy is a hot topic. For example, if the organization processes credit card transactions, the SSG will help in identifying the constraints that the PCI DSS places on the handling of cardholder data and then inform all stakeholders. Note that outsourcing to hosted environments (e.g., the cloud) doesn’t relax PII obligations and can even increase the difficulty of recognizing all associated obligations. Also note that firms creating software products that process PII (where the firms don’t necessarily handle it directly) can meet this need by providing privacy controls and guidance for their customers. Given evolving consumer privacy expectations, proliferation of “software is in everything” and data scraping and correlation (e.g., social media) adds yet another dimension to PII protection.

[CP1.3: 76] Create policy.

The SSG guides the rest of the organization by creating or contributing to software security policy that satisfies internal, regulatory, and customer-driven security requirements. This policy includes a unified approach for satisfying the (potentially lengthy) list of security drivers at the governance level. As a result, project teams can avoid keeping up with the details involved in complying with all applicable regulations or other mandates. Likewise, project teams won’t need to relearn customer security requirements on their own. SSG policy statements can sometimes focus on major compliance topics, such as handling PII or using cryptography. In some cases, policy will relate directly to the SSDL and its use in the firm. Because they might be new topics, codifying decisions about IoT, cloud, and mobile architectures can rekindle interest in setting policy. Similarly, it can be necessary, for example, to explain what can and can’t be automated into CI/CD and continuous deployment pipelines (see [SM3.4 Integrate software-defined lifecycle governance]). Architecture standards and coding guidelines aren’t examples of policy, but policy that prescribes and mandates the use of coding guidelines and architecture standards for certain software categories falls under the umbrella. Policy is what is permitted and denied at the initiative level; if it’s not mandatory, it’s not policy. In many cases, policy statements must be translatable into automation for use in a software-defined lifecycle, not just a process enforced by humans, but even automated policy must be mandatory.  

Compliance & Policy Level 2

[CP2.1: 48] Identify PII inventory.

The organization identifies the kinds of PII processed or stored by each of its systems, along with their associated data repositories. A PII inventory can be approached in two ways: starting with each individual application by noting its PII use or starting with particular types of PII and noting the applications that touch them. System architectures have evolved such that PII will flow into cloud-based service and end-point device ecosystems, and come to rest there (e.g., content delivery networks, social networks, mobile devices, IoT devices), making it tricky to keep an accurate PII inventory. The inventory must be easily referenced in critical situations, such as making a list of databases that would require customer notification if breached or a list to use in crisis simulations (see [CMVM3.3 Simulate software crises]).

[CP2.2: 47] Require security sign-off for compliance-related risk.

The organization has a formal compliance risk acceptance and accountability process that addresses all software development projects. In that process, the SSG acts as an advisor when the risk acceptor signs off on the software’s state prior to release. For example, the sign-off policy might require the head of the business unit to sign off on compliance issues that haven’t been mitigated or on compliance-related SSDL steps that have been skipped. Sign-off should be explicit and captured for future reference, with any exceptions tracked, even under the fastest of agile methodologies. Note that an application without security defects might still be noncompliant so a clean penetration test is not a substitute for a compliance sign-off. Even in DevOps organizations where engineers have the technical ability to release software, there is still a need for a deliberate risk acceptance step even if the criteria are embedded in automation. In cases where the risk acceptor signs off on a particular set of compliance acceptance criteria that are then implemented in automation, there must be an ongoing verification that the criteria remain accurate and the automation is actually working.

[CP2.3: 51] Implement and track controls for compliance.

The organization can demonstrate compliance with applicable requirements because its SSDL is aligned with the control statements developed by the SSG (see [CP1.1 Unify regulatory pressures]). The SSG tracks SDLC controls, navigates problem areas, and ensures auditors and regulators are satisfied. If the organization’s SDLC is predictable and reliable, the SSG might be able to remain in the background because following the SSDL generates the desired compliance evidence. Increasingly, the DevOps approach of embedding compliance controls in process shows up within software-defined infrastructure and networks rather than in process and manual intervention. A firm doing this properly can explicitly associate satisfying its compliance concerns with following its SSDL.

[CP2.4: 44] Include software security SLAs in all vendor contracts.

Vendor contracts include an SLA to ensure that a vendor won’t jeopardize the organization’s compliance story or SSI. Each new or renewed contract contains provisions requiring the vendor to address software security and deliver a product or service compatible with the organization’s security policy (see [SR2.5 Create SLA boilerplate]). In some cases, open source licensing concerns initiate the vendor management process, which can open the door for additional software security language in the SLA. Traditional IT security requirements and a simple agreement to allow penetration testing aren’t sufficient here.

[CP2.5: 56] Ensure executive awareness of compliance and privacy obligations.

To gain executive buy-in around compliance and privacy activities, the SSG provides executives with plain-language explanations of the organization’s compliance and privacy obligations, along with the potential consequences of failing to meet those obligations. For some organizations, explaining the direct cost and likely fallout from a compliance failure or data breach is be an effective way to broach the subject. For others, having an outside expert address the Board works because some executives value an outside perspective more than an internal one. A sure sign of proper executive buy-in is adequate allocation of resources to meet those obligations. While useful for bootstrapping efforts, be aware that the sense of urgency typically following a breach will not last.

Compliance & Policy Level 3

[CP3.1: 25] Create a regulator compliance story.

The SSG has the information regulators want, so a combination of written policy, controls documentation, and artifacts gathered through the SSDL gives the SSG the ability to demonstrate the organization’s compliance story without a fire drill for every audit or a piece of paper for every sprint. Often, regulators, auditors, and senior management will be satisfied with the same kinds of reports that can be generated directly from various tools. In some cases, the organization will require additional information from vendors about how the vendor’s controls support organizational compliance needs (e.g., cloud providers, especially in a multi-cloud deployment). It will often be necessary to normalize information that comes from disparate sources. While they are often the biggest, governments aren’t the only regulators of behavior. 

[CP3.2: 15] Impose policy on vendors.

Vendors are required to adhere to the same policies used internally and must submit evidence that their software security practices pass muster. For a given organization, vendors might comprise cloud providers, middleware providers, virtualization providers, container and orchestration providers, bespoke software creators, contractors, and many more, and each might be held to different policy requirements. Evidence of their compliance could include results from code reviews or penetration tests, or from tests built directly into automation or infrastructure. Vendors might attest to the fact that they perform certain SSDL processes. In some cases, a BSIMM score or a BSIMMsc score can help ensure that vendors are complying with the firm’s software security policies.

[CP3.3: 7] Drive feedback from software lifecycle data back to policy.

Information from the software lifecycle is routinely fed back into the policy creation process to help find defects earlier or to prevent them from occurring in the first place. In doing so, blind spots can be eliminated by mapping them to trends in SSDL failures. The regular appearance of inadequate architecture analysis, recurring vulnerabilities, ignored security gates, or the wrong firm choice for carrying out a penetration test can expose policy weakness. In some cases, lifecycle data might indicate that policies impose too much bureaucracy, for example, by introducing friction that prevents engineering from meeting the expected delivery cadence. Rapid technology evolution might also create policy gaps that must be addressed. Over time, policies become more practical and easier to carry out (see [SM1.1 Publish process and evolve as necessary]). Ultimately, policies are refined with SSDL data to enhance and improve a firm’s effectiveness.